Commissioners-group-2012Since 1912, 33 individuals have served as commissioners at the Port of Vancouver USA. Each made contributions that have collectively molded and shaped the port’s role in our community today.

Over the last 100 years, citizens of Clark County have selected port commissioners with a strong commitment to making decisions in the vested interest of the people they represent. The port district is divided into three commission districts, each with an elected official.

Today, Port of Vancouver Commissioners Jerry Oliver, Brian Wolfe and Nancy Baker represent the citizens of Clark County.

They are each elected to six-year terms and are responsible for setting policy for the port as a public agency. Commissioners work part-time and can be reached at their home phone number by calling our front desk at 360.693.3611 for contact information.

Todd Coleman, as port chief executive officer, manages a staff of more than 100 people involved in day-to-day port operations. Coleman reports directly to the port’s three commissioners.


The Port of Vancouver USA has a three-member Board of Commissioners that sets policy and direction, and approves all major expenditures. Their responsibilities include appointing major administrative staff, which includes the executive director, the port auditor and legal counsel. Commissioners are elected to six-year terms of office by the voters in three port districts. Port commission meetings are open to the public and are normally held on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month beginning at 9:30 a.m. at the administrative office of the Port of Vancouver.


Nancy I. Baker
Commission President

Email Commissioner Baker

After serving 14 years as a port employee, Nancy Baker was elected to the board in 2003, becoming the first female commissioner in the Port of Vancouver’s 100-year history. Appropriately, Ms. Baker served as chair of the commission during the port’s centennial year in 2012. She is currently serving as president of the board for 2015. Elected to her second term in 2009, Ms. Baker is a graduate of Hudson’s Bay High School and attended classes at both Portland State University and Clark College.

In 1996, Ms. Baker was named one of Clark County’s Women of Achievement by Clark College and the YWCA. In 2006, she received the Community Service Award from the SW Washington Labor Roundtable and the Central Labor Council; in 2007 she was named one of the 100 Most Powerful Women of Clark County by the Columbian newspaper. Ms. Baker has served on numerous boards and commissions and currently is a member of the Regional Transportation Council and the Vancouver Downtown Association.

The mother of two and grandmother of four, Ms. Baker is married to Ray Barney. Prior to her work at the port, she spent 10 years in business management with a multi-million dollar retail store, as well as several years in the heavy marine and building construction industry. Ms. Baker represents the Port of Vancouver’s District 2, and her current term expires December 31, 2015.



Jerry Oliver
Commission Vice President

Email Commissioner Oliver

Jerry Oliver was elected to the Port of Vancouver Board of Commissioners in 2007 and is vice president of the commission for 2015. Mr. Oliver was born and raised in Flint, MI, and holds a bachelor’s degree in economics from the University of Michigan. His career includes 20 years in the medical products distribution business as well as seven years in the financial brokerage business. Mr. Oliver also was self-employed for eight years when he worked in mid-market mergers and acquisitions. He retired from business in 2008.

Mr. Oliver currently serves as an alternate delegate for the American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA), a member of the Executive Committee of the Washington Public Ports Association (WPPA), a trustee on the Legislative Committee of the Washington Public Ports Association (WPPA), an alternate delegate for the Regional Transportation Council and as a delegate with the International Air Service Committee.

Mr. Oliver and his wife of 50 years, Joan, have two adult daughters and six grandchildren. He is an ardent hunter, fisherman and backpacker and has been active with various conservation organizations and in his church, where he has served in a variety of capacities over the years.

Mr. Oliver is a strong proponent of limited taxation and sustainable economic development. Mr. Oliver represents the Port of Vancouver’s District 3, and his current term expires December 31, 2019.



Brian Wolfe
Commission Secretary

Email Commissioner Wolfe

Brian Wolfe was elected to the Port of Vancouver Board of Commissioners in 2005 and is secretary of the board for 2015. He also serves on the executive committee of the Columbia River Economic Development Council (CREDC), an organization he helped create, and served as chairman of its board of directors from 1983-1994.

Mr. Wolfe operates his own legal practice in Vancouver and has more than 40 years of experience as an attorney. He serves on the General Advisory Committee of the Clark County Skills Center, the Vancouver Food Cooperative Board and on the Board of Directors of the Southwest Washington Community Land Trust. In addition, he has held leadership positions with the Greater Vancouver Chamber of Commerce, Leadership Clark County, the Clark County Social Services Administration, Identity Clark County, the Vancouver Dawn Lions Club and the Columbia River Education and Workforce Council (CREWC).

Mr. Wolfe holds a B.S. from Whitworth University in Spokane and earned his doctor of jurisprudence degree from Willamette University in Salem. Mr. Wolfe represents the Port of Vancouver’s District 1, and his current term expires December 31, 2017.